This chapter has helped me recognize that I can strengthen my written communication by simplifying the language I use and writing more concisely. I tend to be a very descriptive writer to ensure every detail is expressed but it is too much for the recipient to read through and understand the message I’m conveying. If I used more simplified, but still formal, language, I could get my message across more effectively to the recipient. This would help increase both my productivity and the recipient’s because the recipient would not have to waste time deciphering the meaning of my message.

The chapter also helped me strengthen my written communication through the tone in which I write. I find I can convey a more positive tone just by choosing certain words that come across as polite and cooperating. This is an important element in written communication because you are not face to face with the recipient of the message so you cannot express any body language or facial expressions to emphasis the message.

